SWOT

SWOT analyses are used during strategic planning because they can serve as a precursor to any sort of company action. I read an article online from the Business News Daily on SWOT Analyses and it explained how they can explore new initiatives, help make decisions about new policies, identify possible areas for change, or refining and redirecting efforts mid-plan. I have used the SWOT analyses towards the end of my project to ensure I have met the client’s needs and highlight any possible problem with time to rectify.

The article went on to say “A SWOT analysis focuses entirely on the four elements included in the acronym, allowing companies to identify the forces influencing a strategy, action or initiative. Knowing these positive and negative elements can help companies more effectively communicate what parts of a plan need to be recognised.”

I did a SWOT analyses during my King Richard III project which I did for both the group and myself. I have looked back at this and compared how I was then and how I am now to see if I have strengthened any of my weaknesses at the beginning of this course. They both looked very similar however, I no longer see time management as a weakness of mine. I have worked hard over the last year on my time management and if you look back on previous project blog posts you will see the different methods I have tried to see which one suits me better. During this project so far I feel I have managed this project very well, I have also had another project as part of my Confetti credits which is also part of this degree and I have managed them both together very well, no late hand-in’s and I’m happy with the work that has been completed. Using my MacBooks calendar has certainly helped me keep track of everything I need to do and within what time frame.

Image on the left is my SWOT from King Richard III and Image on the right is my new SWOT analyses.

Reference;

SWOT- Nicole Fallon Taylor, 2016. SWOT Analysis: What It Is and When to Use It [online]. Available at: http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/4245-swot-analysis.html. [Accessed 9th May 2016].

Leave a Reply

